Orphan Train

Orphan Train The author of Bird in Hand and The Way Life Should Be delivers her most ambitious and powerful novel to date a captivating story of two very different women who build an unexpected friendship a 91 year old woman with a hidden past as an orphan train rider and the teenage girl whose own troubled

One for the Murphys

One for the Murphys Twelve year old Carley Connors can take a lot Growing up in Las Vegas with her fun loving mother, she s learned to be tough But she never expected a betrayal that would land her in a foster care When she s placed with the Murphys, a lively family with three boys, she s blindsided Do happy

Three Little Words

Three Little Words Sunshine, you re my baby and I m your only mother You must mind the one taking care of you, but she s not your mama Ashley Rhodes Courter spent nine years of her life in fourteen different foster homes, living by those words As her mother spirals out of control, Ashley is left clinging to an

Another Place at the Table

Another Place at the Table The startling and ultimately uplifting narrative of one woman s thirteen year experience as a foster parent For than a decade, Kathy Harrison has sheltered a shifting cast of troubled youngsters the offspring of prostitutes and addicts the sons and daughters of abusers and teenage parents

Pictures of Hollis Woods

Pictures of Hollis Woods In this Newbery Honor Book, a troublesome 12 year old orphan, staying with an elderly artist who needs her, remembers the only other time she was happy in a foster home, with a family that truly seemed to care about her.

Orbiting Jupiter

Orbiting Jupiter When Jack meets his new foster brother, he already knows three things about him Joseph almost killed a teacher He was incarcerated at a place called Stone Mountain He has a daughter Her name is Jupiter And he has never seen her What Jack doesn t know, at first, is how desperate Joseph is to

The Great Gilly Hopkins

The Great Gilly Hopkins Watch out world The Great Gilly Hopkins is looking for a home She s a foster kid who s been angry, lonely, and hurting for so long that s she s always ready for a fight Be on the lookout for her best barracuda smile, the one she saves for well meaning social workers Watch out for her most

White Oleander

White Oleander Everywhere hailed as a novel of rare beauty and power, White Oleander tells the unforgettable story of Ingrid, a brilliant poet imprisoned for murder, and her daughter, Astrid, whose odyssey through a series of Los Angeles foster homes each its own universe, with its own laws, its own dangers, its

The Lost Boy (Dave Pelzer #2)

The Lost Boy (Dave Pelzer #2) Imagine a young boy who has never had a loving home His only possesions are the old, torn clothes he carries in a paper bag The only world he knows is one of isolation and fear Although others had rescued this boy from his abusive alcoholic mother, his real hurt is just begining he has no

Far from the Tree

Far from the Tree Being the middle child has its ups and downs But for Grace, an only child who was adopted at birth, discovering that she is a middle child is a different ride altogether After putting her own baby up for adoption, she goes looking for her biological family, including Maya, her loudmouthed younger

Forever, or a Long, Long Time

Forever, or a Long, Long Time From rising new talent Caela Carter, author of My Life with the Liars, comes an achingly beautiful and endearing story about two foster children who want desperately to believe that they ve found their forever home Perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead s When You Reach Me, Leslie Connor s All Rise for

Counting by 7s

Counting by 7s Willow Chance is a twelve year old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to count by 7s It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasn t kept her from leading a quietly happy lifeuntil now.