[Ebook] A Most Scandalous Proposal By Ashlyn Macnamara – Bassgrotto.co.uk

A Most Scandalous Proposal Reading A Most Scandalous Proposal Author Ashlyn Macnamara Polishdarling.co.uk Ashlyn Macnamara S Stunning Romance Debut Perfect For Fans Of Julia Quinn, Eloisa James, And Sabrina Jeffries.After Watching Her Beloved Sister Sophia Pine Over The Ton S Golden Boy For Years, Julia St Claire Has Foresworn Love Unfortunately, Her Social Climbing Mother And Debt Ridden Father Jump At The Chance To Marry Julia Off To The Earl Of Clivesdenthe Man Of Sophia S Dreams.Benedict Revelstoke Has Assiduously Avoided The Marriage Mart But When He Discovers That Clivesden Has His Sights Set On Julia, Benedict Proposes In Order To Protect His Childhood Best Friend Only To Discover That Than Friendship Is Driving His Desire To Defend HerMeanwhile, Sophia Encounters A Mysterious Earl With A Dark Past Who Is Intent To Teaching Her All Kinds Of Forbidden Pleasures To Mend Her Broken HeartTwo Devoted Sisters Two Irresistible Heroes Two Enchanting Love Affairs.


10 thoughts on “A Most Scandalous Proposal

  1. says:

    2 stars full review posted 2 11 13 A Most Scandalous Proposal centers on two sisters Julia and Sophia St Clair Younger sister Julia doesn t want the heartache of a love match, which is exactly the type of wife the Earl of Clivesden desires Sophia has been pining five long years for womanizing Clivesden Her heart breaks to see him pursue Julia A compromising situation leads to Sophia s engagement to the Earl of Highgate, an older noble surrounded by rumors Julia s childhood friend Benedict Revelstoke tries to win Julia s heart and block Clivesden s pursuit Scandal, accidental and intentional, rewards the sisters with surprising consequences Ashlyn Macnamara s debut novel seems a spin of Jane Austen s Sense and Sensibility, including specific references by the characters In Ms Austen s story, the Dashwood sisters are balanced with sensible older sister Elinor against a headstrong and passionate Marianne It was easy to empathize with the Dashwood s trials and heartache This was not the case with the St Clair sisters At times, Julia s and Sophia s self absorbed manners and ambitions challenged this reader to sympathize with them, especially in light of their father s financial troubles The somewhat modern ideals of the heroines conflicted with their situations and historical setting It was difficult to temporarily suspend disbelief and enjoy the story Benedict and the Earl ...


  2. says:

    3.75 starsThis is a very promising d but from Ashlyn Macnamara The writing and pacing were both good and there were none of those credulity stretching moments that seem to have marred so many of the newer historical romances I ve read recently.I was pleased to discover that this book features not just one, but two of my favourite tropes in romantic fiction forced marriage and friends become lovers I should say at this point though that the blurb is rather misleading in that one could be forgiven for thinking the story is about Julia St Clare and her childhood friend Benedict Revelstoke In fact, the book features two parallel stories one featuring Julia and Benedict and the other, her older sister Sophia and Rufus, Earl of Highgate, and I would venture to say that this fact marks the book out as something a little bit different.Both stories are given equal prominence which, on the plus side, means that the pace never slackens The negative side however is that it doesn t allow for a great deal of character and relationship development, and I know that some reviewers have said that they found the four different points of view to be distracting.For me, the latter wasn t a problem, but I did have some issues with the lack of depth in terms of the characterisation I would have liked, for example, for Benedict s awareness of his true feelings for Julia to have happened slowly, over time, so that the reader could share in his gradual awakening I also thought that the...


  3. says:

    ARC courtesy of Random House Publishing via Edelweiss This review is for about 75% of the book the first 16 chapters and the last one Main characters Julia and BenedictSophia and Highgate My love of covers What I Liked Well nothing really, besides the cover I read on and on in hopes of finding something that I liked, but I couldn t The story is about 2 sisters who eventually find their happiness We have Sophia, who suffers from bad love syndrome as she s mooning after an idiot who doesn t want her and could never be faithful to only one woman, and Julia who after she sees what that love has done to her sister wants to remain unmarried As you can understand that doesn t happen and both of them end with men that they hadn t expected What I didn t like This will be very long D First of all there were too many clich s I never thought I d say that, but after reading one after the other it just drove me crazy We have the friends to lovers one Julia and Benedict , the unrequited love Sophia and Clivesden , the beauty and the beast Sophia and Highgate , and the usual gossipy old woman who appears evil and crazy, but actually is perceptive and unhappy Besides this collection which if I think hard enough I could add to we have lots of drama, for example Sophia always almost swoons when she se...


  4. says:

    A Most Scandalous Proposal was my first time reading Ashlyn Macnamara While I didn t love this debut novel, there were several elements that I appreciated and I will be trying of her work in the future.A Most Scandalous Proposal actually has two romantic pairings The first is Julia and Benedict who have grown up as friends until Benedict s feelings went deeper while Julia remained blind to the attraction The second is Sophia and the Earl of Highgate who are thrown together due to an unintended compromising situation even though Sophia is in love with another man.There are a lot of plot threads and the snobbishness and unforgiving nature of the ton is sketched out expertly There were many times I felt stifled just reading about the world the characters had to navigate which was a good thing it felt authentic and not just convenient window dressing I thought both Julia and Sophia were a bit tough to like Julia was always an ice queen, holding herself apart from the world, while Sophia remained devoted to a creep of...


  5. says:

    Spectacular debut novel from Ashlyn Macnamara I stayed up until 2 a.m reading this This was a lovely surprise as it was really two stories in one book Generally speaking, we would have seen either Julia or Sophia s story, and then would have had to wait for the next book to find out the other s story.Nope Ms Macnamara has intertwined the sisters stories, first time I ve seen one like this, and it was a JOY to read.Julia, after watching Sophia pine for five long years over the newly named Earl of Clivesden If that s love, then she wants no part of it She much prefers the friendship of her childhood friend, Benedict Revelstoke He is rarely in town, but stumbles across a wager in White s infamous book A wager that shocks him Someone is betting that they will marry Julia He simply can t let that happen.Meanwhile, Sophia is suffering through unrequited love Her heart soars when Clivesden glances at her and she sobs when he ignores her When he maneuvers her into a situation with the Earl of Highgate, she has to accept his betrothal or forever be shunned in society Highgate was a high point in this book I loved him He has a hurt heart and can empathize with Sophia, but he also is rather taken by her Yep, LOVED him.Julia and Sophia, for separate reasons, have spurned any and all proposals that have come their way over five seasons on the marriage mart Their parents are beyond restless a...


  6. says:

    Another debut for this year and it turned out to be rather promising Miss Julia St Claire has no desire to fall in love and marry, instead she leaves that to her sister Sophia who has pined over the Earl of Clivesden for years Yet when Clivesden suddenly shows an interest in Julia, tension abounds and Julia keeps distancing herself from the drated man but he is always there She turns to her childhood friend, Benedict Revelstoke for help getting out of her unwanted betrothal Julia would rather be ruined in the eyes of society than cause her sister pain Problem is Benedict will not ruin her without offering marriagea marriage Julia fears will be one sided in love and the thing she wants to avoid at all costs.I was pleasantly surprised to see that this story actually is two romances in one Julia and Benedict and Sophia and the man she inadvertently gets compromised with I was afraid that Sophia s storyline was going to detract from the other storyline but instead it really added to the story as I came to realize that Sophia also needed to find her own happily...


  7. says:

    Fun Fun Fun From start to finish Witty and engaging This really is Sense and Sensibility with sex I look forward to Ms Macnamara s next book


  8. says:

    Oh my.seriously A Most Scandalous Proposal definitely is one of the most promising debuts I ve read in a long time As a romance addict, I have certainly read a lot of those The story is about two sisters, who are united in their love for each other but couldn t be different in the way they pursue their dreams On the one hand there is Julia St Claire who thinks that she can learn about the painful sides of love by watching others I think that s a mistake easily done And then there is Sophia, who is so steadfast in her love that she doesn t doubt for one moment As they say, love makes us blind so there you have it two wonderful female characters both strong in their own way.But it doesn t stop there Ashlyn Macnamara seems to create male characters that make you forget yourself There is no other way to put it Between Benedict and Rufus, it s very hard to decide who I d rather get to know better and as a bonus there is Upperton who has such a wicked sense of humor, which is delicious But I m getting ahead of myself.There are a few things that make A Most Scandalous Proposal a must keep for me FYI I m not putting them in any particular order Macnamara manages to tell two stories in one book in a way that doesn t give you a feeling that you wer...


  9. says:

    I picked up this book because I love historicals, and the description mentions it is perfect for fans of Julia Quinn and Eloisa James two of my favorite historical authors.There are two stories in this book Julia and Benedict s being the main one interspersed with the story of Sophia and Highgate Julia is disillusioned by love and has decided she does not need it in a marriage Sophia on the other hand, is infatuated, and waiting to marry the one she believes she loves.When circumstances turn around such that Julia is required to marry Sophia s love, she must do something What she does is the most scandalous proposal and she seeks the help of her dependable, childhood friend Benedict Sophia s life also takes a different route as Highgate enters it.How the two couples discover love and happiness inevitable of course, so not a spoiler is the rest of the book and definitely a sweet journey When best friends discover that they love each other, it is always sweet., and when two broken hearts find true love, well that is sweet too My favorite characters in this book were the men in this book the he...


  10. says:

    01 03 2012 DNF for me at 30%.This was a buddy read with Anna and I left her high and dry Why This book so did not grab me The author used about 50,000 words when a few would have sufficed to communicate a thought or a feeling At one point I found myself thinking about Charlie Brown s teacher whaw whaw whaw Not good So, not going to waste any o...